1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

Seeking validation- challenges

Discussion in 'Self Improvement' started by twistedshadows23, Sep 6, 2019.

1. twistedshadows23

twistedshadows23 Fapstronaut

So since I've been doing therapy and practicing mindfulness I've noticed a big reason why I go through long periods of feeling awful. I am constantly seeking validation from others to fill an emptiness I feel inside. I feel inadequate and like I'm not good at anything or even like I'm not a good person if I don't constantly have people telling me otherwise. Has anyone dealt with what I'm talking about before? Can anyone offer advice?

2. My advice would be: You already noticed it and are Aware of it, that's a huge step! It will take quite some time to completely heal from that but you are on the Right way and it will become better. Ask yourself as often as possible (don't let it consume you though) 'Why am I doing this?' 'Is it to please someone?' 'Who am I trying to please?' 'Does it feel ok for me if I do it, even though I want to please someone with that?' 'Do I want to do something else instead?'

3. elevate

elevate Fapstronaut

External validation never lasts. You'll always be in a state of needing more of it. Think of it like being a flashlight (artificial light) and the validation of others are the batteries you need. As opposed to being the light (like the sun) that is self sufficient and self validating.

Do more things you're proud of no matter what the outcome is to build up self respect / love / validation.

koolpal, Tibo87, Kiz Whalifa and 2 others like this.
  4. A41:14A

A41:14A Fapstronaut

Always :emoji_100: "on point" with your advice bud.. appreciate your insights (as always)

Kiz Whalifa and twistedshadows23 like this.
  5. twistedshadows23

Thank you man! I’ll try that

6. twistedshadows23