1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

Why are the academic articles/reports so difficult to read and understand?

Discussion in 'Off-topic Discussion' started by New Challenger, Sep 25, 2019.

1. New Challenger

New Challenger Fapstronaut

I am a Psychology student. Although English is not my mother tongue but I can speak English fluently, read English newspapers, letters and even university text books quite well. But when it comes to academic articles/reports, things become extremely ugly and frustrating. I would easily get lost in the middle of the article, have completely no idea what the article/report is trying to say. The sentences are horribly long, many of them are in the length of a paragraph. whats makes things even worse than they already are is that the sentence structure is very complicated, with tons of words I do not know the meaning of. Even if I check the meaning on dictionary to get the meaning of those words, they still do not make sense at all. Sometimes I think the article/report writers did this on purpose to give their readers hard time because that seriously frustrates me when spending hours and days to study but ended up not being able to understand the articles/reports we are required to read for the major assignment.

2. I know exactly what you mean. It's baffling to me too.

I had a Harvard grad who had written several books tell me that he doesn't understand it either. He said he wrote his books so that anyone with a high school education could understand them. Why eliminate a big chuck of society from being able to read his books that he felt would be useful to all?

I think there might be some nauseating professional pride that's involved. "We're going to make it hard for those that aren't us to become us."