1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

Might sound strange, but this helps me..

Discussion in 'Success Stories' started by Janus, Jan 3, 2015.

1. Janus

Janus Fapstronaut

As of this post, I'm 50% of the way to my goal. I'd have to say I'm having the greatest success yet but I'm not getting overconfident. I know I have a lot of work to do yet.

I work as a graphic designer and as such, I tend to be a very visual person, I need to SEE certain things for them to be real to me if that makes sense. While I have my PMO counter here on he forum, it's not something I can see all the time, every day, so I came up with this. I know it might sound dumb, but whatever works right?

I took a large clear glass jar, the kind you use to make iced tea with the little tap at the bottom, I filled it to the top with water and used a sharpie to mark the top of the water line.

Then I added several drops of green food coloring to make the water a murky green color. The glass jar represents my brain, the green water represents the PMO and dopamine induced "goo" that is filling it, keeping me from thinking clearly.

I take a NyQuil cup, and every day I manage to go without PMO, I dispense one small cupful from the tap and pour it out. I can see the water level dropping, I see more of the clear and less of the green, murky fog. It's a visual representation of my brain clearing. I see the original water line and I can see how far I've gone, and how far I still need to go.

The jar doesn't represent any set number of days. To be honest, I'm not sure how long it will take to empty it, but maybe that's the point of what we do here, we just keep working at it every day until we see improvement.

Like I said, probably sounds like a dumb idea, but hey, it works for me.

Bozzo likes this.
  2. OnTrack

OnTrack Fapstronaut

Sounds like a cool idea!