1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

Social anxiety, online dating, and confusion

Discussion in 'Dating during a Reboot' started by MrDetermination, Sep 20, 2018.

1. MrDetermination

MrDetermination Fapstronaut

I've given online dating a try recently. First tried Tinder, but nearly every single function on the website requires you to pay for it, which I'm less than willing to do (yes, I'm a bloody cheapskate, but I'm a student, so I think it's justified)! Then I gave OkCupid a shot. That website has more things you can do without paying, but I have had another problem with it: I tried to get in touch with some women around my age, but never got any reply. Then I asked myself "What's going on? Are they not interested? Am I not doing it properly? Is the website rigged in some fashion?". Tell me, fapstronauts: What are your thoughts on online dating? Can it work? Or is it, like one of my favorite fictionnal characters would have put it, "nothing but hokum"?
    When it comes to real-life seduction, I think social anxiety has me stimied. I tried to overcome it, but I find it less than easy, and that really is a pain in the ass in this society that expects men to make the move. Plus, I've heard plenty of stories about men being disrespectful (wilfully or not) while interacting with women, and this is not what I want. This got me wondering: Where do we draw the line between what is respectful and what is not? When is it okay to go talk to a woman and when is it not? (Well, I'm 100% sure that aggressive physical contact, catcalling, insults, or other similar things, is not okay, that seems to me like a no-brainer) A thought that crossed my mind about real-life seduction is that movies and TV series make it seem easy to an unrealistic extent. I may be wrong, but that's the feeling I have.