1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

How and where to start when going to the gym for the first time?

Discussion in 'Self Improvement' started by Anonymous86, Oct 7, 2018.

1. Anonymous86

Anonymous86 Fapstronaut

I want to start, but with my brain fog and low motivation I find it quite difficult. I don't know how long I should work out for and if I should even touch the freeweights.

It's my first time ever using a gym consistently, so...yeah. Kind of nervous here. :-/

Deleted Account likes this.
  2. I'm right there with you man. I started gym stuff and meal prep about 4 weeks ago. I'm seeing improvement and sticking to my goals but it is super intimidating and hard to not feel like you are an idiot.

Mostly I have been leaning on nerdfitness https://www.nerdfitness.com because that's my style. I'm so out of shape if I literally do ANYTHING that makes me sweaty and tired for at least an hour I'm doing well. As I get more fit I'll worry about getting on a stricter plan.

Clean Plate and Anonymous86 like this.
  3. Anonymous86

Anonymous86 Fapstronaut

Do you have to pay for nerd fitness in any capacity? I have access to a gym right now. Not sure what to do.

Deleted Account likes this.
  4. When you join a gym, you will often get a free session with a trainer where they start you on a daily routine. You can start with what they recommend, then change your routine as you learn. You can get ideas from talking to people and watching YouTube videos. You will learn a lot. The hardest thing is at the beginning. I highly recommend it. For me, strength building exercises all over is the way to go. You may get turned on a few months later when you look in the mirror!

Anonymous86 likes this.
  5. Clean Plate

Clean Plate Fapstronaut