1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

Healing wounds with Wife: will you share?

Discussion in 'Rebooting in a Relationship' started by MNWinter, Sep 27, 2019.

1. MNWinter

MNWinter Fapstronaut

Hi NoFap,
    As I’m studying up on Betrayal Trauma and the healing process, counselors have suggested reaching out to other guys who have been further along in the journey. My wife and I have just started our process since May, and I know we have a long road ahead.

If you’ve been down this road will you share what has worked and what hasn’t?

Here are some of my questions:
    - what made her feel “safe” again?
    - what does the healing process look like?
    - how long did it take for you to be sexually intimate again?
    - what are the coping mechanisms you as a couple employ when triggers or setbacks happen?

Thanks much!

2. I'm not a PA, but I've been married to one for 20+ years. I just wanted to recommend a book for both you and your wife. Your Sexually Addicted Spouse by Barbara Steffens and Marsha Means. It is very good about explaining the betrayal trauma side of this whole thing, and it offers some helpful ideas about working through it.

MNWinter likes this.