1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

I don't really know how to talk to people. How do I fix that?

Discussion in 'Self Improvement' started by zxcv, Oct 14, 2019.

1. zxcv

zxcv Fapstronaut

Obviously, I'm not that good with talking to people or making friends. What do I need to do or where do I need to go help me fix that. I'm guessing I'll probably need help with body language and social skills too.

2. Deleted Account likes this.
  3. ShadyPerson

ShadyPerson Fapstronaut

You can find a lot of tips for social tricks and rules online. Take some of them with a grain of salt obviously. But for instance the guy Coffee Candy recommended is legit.

But if I had to give only one piece of advice, I would like to point out that you learn by doing. Want to be better at talking to people? Talk to people. Knowing how to socialize in theory can be useful, but if you never try your wings in an actual conversation, it's useless.

Deleted Account likes this.
  4. Nicko Stretch

Nicko Stretch Fapstronaut

Humans are great learners through imitation. Maybe you could start by observing others with a focus on use of language, body language and facial expressions. Also recognise that every human interaction is an opportunity to try out those observations. Walking down the street and saying hi to people, being polite when making purchases at the store, and starting discussions with family members will all help build your communication skills and lessen the fear.

Robinthehood likes this.
  5. fredisthebes

fredisthebes Fapstronaut

Ask questions. Be curious. And talk to everyone - not just pretty women (older people are often much chattier!)

Washwaverr and Nicko Stretch like this.
  6. ShadyPerson

ShadyPerson Fapstronaut