1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

My gym just closed because of Covid-19. Any good home workout ideas?

Discussion in 'Off-topic Discussion' started by madniel91, Mar 14, 2020.

1. madniel91

madniel91 Fapstronaut

My gym is closed until end of April, I know it's not an excuse to stop working out so I am looking for some ideas to do strength training at home.

I don't have a lot of equipment, just 2x 5kg dumbbell and one kettlebell.

Does anyone have a habit of training at home and can give me advice?

brilliantidiot likes this.
  2. Calistenics (plenty of sources on youtube, and let's face it: 1000 types of push-ups are fun) or download some app with home work-outs (I won't give titles; there are plenty of those).

3. I’m not an expert on these things, but I’m getting a lot of mileage at home from sit-ups/crunches/reverse crunches, pushups, and various types of planks.

madniel91 likes this.
  4. Nucleus

Nucleus Fapstronaut

Calisthenics yes. Convict Conditioning is a good book. The exercises are:
    1. Pushups
    2. Handstand push-ups
    3. Bridging
    4. Squats
    5. Leg raises.
    Push-ups can progress to single arm push-ups. Handstand push-ups are tough enough but it you are as strong as a damned bull you have single arm variations. Bridging is done for reps like push-ups and you can lean over backwards and crawl down the wall to bridge and back up... and that’s one rep. Squats become single leg and leg raises are done in slow motion hanging from a bar.

madniel91 likes this.
  5. madniel91

madniel91 Fapstronaut

Thanks for the advice dude. Will calisthenics have the same effects as lifting weights?

6. Nucleus

Nucleus Fapstronaut

Sure. Just find the level of difficulty for each exercise to give the right amount of stimulation to your muscles.

hang on I’ll link you to the first in the pushups series.