1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

Financial Independence

Discussion in 'Off-topic Discussion' started by mrguy, Dec 24, 2020.

1. mrguy

mrguy Fapstronaut

Anyone here aware of the Financial Independence movement? Seems like a good topic for self-improvement.

I've been saving money for 2021 Roth IRA contribution.

CarP and blacklabel92 like this.
  2. SickSicko

SickSicko Fapstronaut

He is right though, you will always be dependent on something, even if that something is an apparently self-sustained source of passive income.

Also that definition is way too loose and not accurate at all...although I will grant is the most commonly used.

Roady likes this.
  3. R2DToy

R2DToy Fapstronaut

Oh man I know plenty of ways to make money outside of employment. I made money doing all kinds of stuff; from selling NES games to affiliate marketing to selling paintings door to door. Most of my experience is with online marketing though. Made plenty of money but it's all gone! Never had much patience to begin with, and due to past circumstances I'm not really able to finish any projects any more at all. Kind of a shame.

4. Given the debt-based nature of money at the minute, I don't know how long 'financial independence' will last for people reliant on things like a stockmarket portfolio. Material security isn't the same thing as a passive income stream. If any potential path to the kind of freedom you're looking for doesn't involve taking control of your life and working your arse off, I'd view it with suspicion.

CarP likes this.
  5. ThePeakWae

ThePeakWae Fapstronaut

Truth is you arent wrong, you'll still have to retain your knowledge regarding your own finances so you can keep dealing with things properly.

Roady likes this.
  6. R2DToy

R2DToy Fapstronaut