1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

becoming more assertive?

Discussion in 'Self Improvement' started by cresyhorse, Jul 23, 2021.

1. cresyhorse

cresyhorse Fapstronaut

has anyone got through this phase, if you have, could you give some tips?

2. Rev2.0

Rev2.0 Fapstronaut

Lift heavy weights, regularly, and take cold showers, regularly. These are things our natural body doesn't want to do. When you do these things regularly then stating your needs and opinions confidently and without fear becomes relatively easy or at least, not nearly as intimidating. I've been doing weights for about 3 years and cold showers since last winter and I'm to the point I pretty much speak my mind to anyone about anything if they ask or even if they don't ask but I feel something needs to be said. For example my wife and I were out at a really expensive restaurant for our anniversary and they sat us at a crappy table. In the past I would have just said oh well but right away I said, "this isn't going to work, what else do you have?" And in a couple minutes we had a much better spot. Wifey noticed... and appreciated ;)

3. cresyhorse

cresyhorse Fapstronaut

you da man!

4. FirefromAbove

FirefromAbove Fapstronaut

Socially what you can do is when someone tries to talk over you, you don’t stop but keep talking.

Sounds simple I know but it’s a lot easier said than done

cresyhorse likes this.
  5. Wilde°

Wilde° Fapstronaut

All the tips people gave you above are good because they are some TO DO's.

But when zooming out it's just about getting uncomfortable and not giving a f*ck.

6. A Bottle of Slivovitz

A Bottle of Slivovitz Fapstronaut

maybe these two books will help you a little bit about that:
    1. No More Mr. Nice Guy by Dr Robert Glover
    2. The Assertiveness workbook by Dr Randy Paterson