1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

How do you deal with overconfident people?

Discussion in 'Off-topic Discussion' started by Namekian23, Mar 28, 2016.

1. Namekian23

Namekian23 Fapstronaut

So last week, I was hanging out with my friends, and as usual, they bring new people along. However, there was this one Asian guy who was unlike other guy I've met. And I was just curious about the way he was talking and behaving. Has anyone ever dealt with people who are just too cocky? For example, over the years, I developed into a more mature version of myself. I would say I'm more confident in myself than I was 10 years ago (after I dropped out of high school, but still went to college). When it came to girls, it was the same thing, but it took a long time, and I'm still learning.

I've heard from many people that being yourself is being the best that you are as of now. Your confidence in what you do and behave just comes naturally with people, your job, your health, and so on. Furthermore, when it comes to hanging with your friends, you can make an idiot out of yourself and not even feel bad about it. And they still laugh. But this guy was different. So why do people try to be so overconfident? When does it work and when does it not work?

onebookperweek likes this.
  2. kk76

kk76 Fapstronaut

Look through the BS he is spouting. If he needs to big himself up then he is lacking in confidence. It is an act

Namekian23 likes this.
  3. vulture175

vulture175 Fapstronaut

maybe they tend to act confident to show their strength, make others feel weak, and they feel good about that, narcissistic traits maybe. especially in asian culture, people are afraid of being weak because they're gonna be judged, then they act like everything is ok even it is not, just to earn others' respect. or maybe that guy was just an asshole lol