1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

Mindfulness development

Discussion in 'Self Improvement' started by pavloo91, May 18, 2017.

1. pavloo91

pavloo91 Fapstronaut

I have been practising mindfulness for some time now (about 1.5 month) and I have been meditating for like 3 months. There are days where I can be quite mindful, but then come days where I cannot focus at all on what I'm currently doing and all my thoughts are rushing through my head like crazy or I can't let go of a given thought. Is it a normal progression on the path of mindfulness or am I doing something wrong? Do you have similar experiences? Or maybe you have some good resources on that topic? I would very appreciate your help.

2. It's normal to have disruptive thoughts. The key is to not beat yourself up about, or get anxious about it, because that will just frustrate you / make things worse. Just calmly allow those thoughts to pass on their way - think of them as clouds moving through a skyline, emptying to leave it blue again. Soon enough, and inevitably, more clouds appear - just notice them and allow them to pass too. The fact that you are noticing all the thoughts and their number / speed suggests you are thinking along the right lines for mindfulness. Most people just stay on the thought train and don't try to jump off. Mindfulness helps us to jump off now and again, and - to an extent - reset.

3. Strength And Light

Strength And Light Fapstronaut