1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

combating EXTREME boredom & isolation

Discussion in 'Loneliness' started by Deleted Account, Sep 25, 2016.

1. pardon me if this is sounds bitchy but I donnu what else to turn to

sooo I joined early last may and things were pretty rad. I was slowly weaning off this illness and was beginning to wake up -- and man things were awesome. going out, meeting new people, basically being fearless in every dynamic this addiction had suppressed. it was easy for me as a) I have a ton of hobbies and b) I'm social and always out and about anyway. it was all going like clockwork, UNTIL I graduated from flight school and took a job as a flight instructor out in the middle of nowheresville arizona, 20 miles from the nearest city. I'm talking no phone service, shoddy internet, coyotes and tarantulas casually walking around. I get put up in a pretty nice house for free - one roommate who is a workaholic and never home. then the parents say that my little brother has to learn how to drive so they need the car back. okay, so here I am stranded in the desert with no way of getting around.

so for the past three months, every day has been one-thirds work, two-thirds being stuck at home, which is not ideal for a social person like me. at first I took the isolation as an opportunity to focus on self improvement -- started working out, running, meditating, reading lots of books, quit cigarettes and television, played guitar more, but predictably I have begun to struggle with nofap. and looking back at the reboot journal I've been writing, almost every relapse has occurred on the weekend, when I was by myself all day, stuck at this damn house. I love my job but this is getting redundant and I think I'm starting to get cabin fever lol.