1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

How can I get into guitar PROPERLY (chords and playing actual songs)

Discussion in 'Off-topic Discussion' started by YellowBlob64, Apr 27, 2020.

1. YellowBlob64

YellowBlob64 Fapstronaut

I already have a basic grasp on acoustic and electric (I know how to play ode to joy on the strings, not with chords). But I'd like to actually progress into playing my favourite song Wish You Were Here - Pink Floyd, how do I progress to that point?

2. Mistersofty

Mistersofty Fapstronaut

You can take lessons. Or you can teach yourself. A lot of people are self taught these days with the help of the internet. There are tons of sights that offer tips and tablature as well. What has helped me is to practice the things that I struggle with the most. For instance, I can fret strings quite easily, but I have a hard time holding rhythms, especially when there is percussions included in the song. Once you learn the hard stuff, it becomes much more enjoyable to play. Of course don’t overwhelm yourself by trying difficult songs right out of the gate, but songs like “wish you were here” are a good place to start because they are fairly easy to learn. I think that was actually one of the first songs I ever learned and if I remember correctly, it’s only like 2 or 3 basic chords. Good luck!

YellowBlob64 likes this.
  3. brilliantidiot

brilliantidiot Fapstronaut

I flatpick bluegrass guitar (such as
    ). I know almost nothing about other types of guitar such as what you are interested in.