1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

How Do Rest Days Work In Exercising?

Discussion in 'Self Improvement' started by Fallior, Sep 30, 2015.

1. Fallior

Fallior Fapstronaut

I'm a fitness noob, so forgive me if this is a really basic question, but how do rest days work? I know you're generally supposed to have 20 minutes of exercise every day, but when working out, you are supposed to have rest days.
    Let's say I did arms for 2 days for example, so now I'm supposed to have a rest day. Does that mean I rest for all exercise that day, or just rest from arm exercises for that day? And how does cardio fit into all of this? I know typically you're supposed to do some type of cardio every day for 20 minutes. So I'm wondering how rest days apply to that.

2. Stevegregory

Stevegregory Fapstronaut

Usually a rest day means to do nothing and completely rest. Some people like to do some stretching on rest days or some cardio or maybe even go for a walk. I personally think stretching is a good thing to do on rest days but yeah doing nothing is fine.

3. 911reboot

911reboot Fapstronaut

No.

How you rest is largely dependent on the regimen you're working off of. For example, I do a lighter legs day on Monday, Tuesday is chest, Wednesday is heavy legs and back, Thursday is arms and shoulders and Friday is a lighter back day. I also do 30 minutes of cardio following every workout, in my case I am using incline treadmill walking, which is a higher caloric burn than running while also being lower impact - I used to run three days a week after lifting and this is much more palatable.