1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

How do you stop?

Discussion in 'New to NoFap' started by Bañera, May 13, 2021.

1. Bañera

Bañera Fapstronaut

I'm new and I've got a problem as anybody here: PMO adiction
    I've been tring to stop that for 4 months and my biggest record is a week, and it's because I can't stop when I start thinking "what if I fap?" and I'd like that someone to tell me how to stop in that moment that you still have a bit of control.

2. Julian Baker

Julian Baker Distinguished Fapstronaut
    NoFap Defender

Hola Bañera,

Firstly, great post! Big up!

What you are experiencing, when you can't stop thinking about it, is what I personally call 'Lock Jaw'. It's like when a rabid dog locks its jaw on its victim and won't let go until its victim succumbs or dies. It can come out of nowhere which makes it particularly challenging to deal with. This isn't a scientific explanation (obviously), so don't hold onto (pardon the pun), what I'm saying, but just try and understand that sometimes, all we can do is let things ride out until they stop.

But if you want to (try) stop the process before it starts, then try practising URGE SURFING, or the STOP & SNAP principle, which is similar to URGE SURFING.

The basic principle to STOP & SNAP is that when you get an urge, you stop, breathe, think about what is unfolding, observe your feelings and proceed in an action that will lead you away from the desire to act out, such as snapping a rubber band on your wrist. I recently just learned about this gadget called the PAVLOK. Mm..interesting idea...