1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

I've beaten my video game addiction

Discussion in 'Off-topic Discussion' started by Misunderstood, Mar 17, 2014.

1. Misunderstood

Misunderstood Fapstronaut

I started playing video games since I was 6 and I've been hooked ever since. I wouldn't say I was fully addicted until middle school and that's when everything started to change. Instead of reading, I'd play video games. Instead of going outside, I'd play video games. Instead of spending quality time with my family or friends, I'd play video games. I wouldn't eat my food at the table but instead in front of the TV downstairs......playing video games. It got to the point where I would skip brushing my teeth and taking showers just to play them. I would wake up at 5am in the morning to play video games until around 1am in the morning, no breaks except for bathrooms and gathering junk food. I wouldn't do my homework, I wouldn't do any of my other hobbies. I would just play video games all day. It made me very anti-social and it made me sad as well. I used to spend every day of my summer vacation playing video games and when school came around and people asked me what I did over the summer, I had nothing to tell them. All I did was play video games. If I was ever forced to leave the house and go somewhere, guess what? I'd bring my PSP and my iPod and play games on there. Video games used to be the first thing I did when I woke up and the last thing I did before I went to sleep. I didn't notice how bad the addiction was until I blew off this girl I liked just to play video games.