1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

Lacking Discipline

Discussion in 'New to NoFap' started by Kain, Jun 10, 2018.

1. Kain

Kain New Fapstronaut

Hey everyone!

I’m new here. Basically, I realized that all of my problems stem from a lack of discipline.

At first I thought, “If I just fix my sleep schedule, everything will be fine,” but I find that I’m struggling to make myself go to bed at a reasonable time. Then of course, it’ll be exponentially more difficult to wake up when I’d like to because I’ll have to settle for an inadequate amount of sleep. That breaks you down over the course of the semester (I’m a college student), so it’s not sustainable. I have to make myself go to sleep earlier, but I feel like I just can’t.

Then I got to thinking about other areas of my life where I regularly give in to irrational impulse. I thought about my diet. I eat a lot of fast food. I’m slim and overall in good health (I’m assuming because my calorie intake is fairly low). I suppose many overweight people struggle with a lack of discipline when they eat an excessive amount of food, but I’m just physically incapable of that. I’ll get full and throw away half a burger lol So I’ve been pretty lucky in that regard, but I could improve my diet.

What else? Ah! Masturbation! Surely, I could abstain if I wanted to! “Let me give it a try!” It’s been 3 days of me trying and failing, and I decided I need to get serious. I’m looking at so many different ways of improving my life, and if only for the virtue of discipline, I need to do this. If I can deny myself a free dopamine rush, then I’m truly in control of myself. Therefore, before I can do anything else, I must successfully fapstain. #Fapstinence