1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

Meditation: How it helps with PMO

Discussion in 'Self Improvement' started by Soccer14, Aug 28, 2016.

1. Soccer14

Soccer14 Fapstronaut

Meditation is something I mention and document in my journal often. I have had several inquires about my experience and how it helps me with my NOFAP challenges, and so I thought I would write about my experience so I could direct people here when they ask about it.

Disclaimer: I am by no means an expert. I sit regularly (details of my practice can be found at the bottom of this post), but do not consider myself qualified to teach. I can, however, share my experience and what I do know in the hopes that it will prove beneficial to you.

How Does Meditation Help with PMO Struggles?

This is the burning question for most people, but before we can answer it, we need to first answer…

What is meditation and what does it do?

There are many forms of meditation, and each form has its own purpose and results. I’ve listed some reasons people meditate, followed by a dash and the name of that form of meditation for the ones I know. There are many more, but here are a few:

1.) Relax/reduce stress.

2.) Improve focus/become present – Mindfulness meditation.

3.) Develop compassion - Metta

4.) Develop equanimity (i.e. an even-temper, remain calm) – Vipassana.

Here are some other types of meditation.