1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

Career advice - what would you do?

Discussion in 'Off-topic Discussion' started by yaaarp, May 23, 2018.

1. yaaarp

yaaarp Fapstronaut

So, a little situation at work, and I'm not sure how to proceed.

My manager recently put me forward for a fairly significant pay rise, as he recognised that I have a higher level of technical knowledge and more responsibility than others on the same level as me. Unfortunately, he can't just approve it, as it has to be approved by HR and Finance, who don't have the first clue who I am or what I do.

They've been dragging their feet over it, and I'm becoming convinced that its going to be rejected. A promotion isn't going to happen, as there isn't vacancy, and anyway that role is more about line-management, which I have no experience of. I've applied for the post before and been rejected on that basis.

Its not about the money - I'm well paid in comparison to other people doing my job at similar organisations, its about the recognition. I'm getting fed up of people getting paid the same as me and having a lot less stress and work to do, and equally fed up of people at a higher level coming to me for help because I know more than them.

What would you do? Stay, and put up with the situation, or leave for pastures new, even though I'd probably have to take a pay cut to do so?

Last edited: May 23, 2018
    Roboto 9er likes this.
  2. Roboto 9er

Roboto 9er Fapstronaut

Idk man not a situation I would ask a question about honestly.

Wait I guess I would just find something better when it showed up. I would do it the right way. Or just be assertive and tell someone how you feel.

3. Karimtolstoi

Karimtolstoi Fapstronaut