My reason for NoFap

Discussion in 'New to NoFap' started by NoFapC, Feb 6, 2015.

1. NoFapC

NoFapC Fapstronaut

Hey guys. Guess I'll type my reason if anyone is interested, I think it would also help hit the reason home when I see it typed out infront of me.

So the short is, I have to take control of my life. I am a 24 year old virgin who hasn't accomplished anything, and that has to change. The only thing that I have done that can count as steering my life in the right direction is I'm currently studying engineering, and even this had to be completed already and I should be in my 2nd year of working already, but alas I am currently only in my 4th year of study, 3rd year academically.

Needless to say, something has to change. After watching some youtube videos and stumbling across people talking about nofap, they made me realise why I was masturbating in the first place.

It is because it is a way for me to escape from reality. Even if I wasn't that horny, I would still masturbate just to escape from depression, boring circumstances, anger, hopelessness, frustrated, etc.

The quote from a youtuber that hit it home for me was: "Ultimately you get into a running match with reality where you are constantly trying to push things away and modify your mood with stimulation. It doesn't work, and eventually the real problems pile up until you can't escape at all, and you just spend your entire time running... and life sucks." https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tO0dzEGpl68

So here's to channeling that wasted energy into activities in my life that will enrich it, and to face reality... finally.

2. seventyniner

seventyniner Fapstronaut

Welcome to NoFap!

By joining here, you just did what you couldn't do for so long: face reality. Face your situation. That is a very important first step. And lo, before you knew it, your journey began :)