1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

Conversation 101

Discussion in 'Self Improvement' started by Odiebear, Feb 15, 2020.

1. Odiebear

Odiebear Fapstronaut

Hey this might be a weird topic but something ive been trying to do on my own for a while. But even now that im in a more positive head space and feel like myself for the first time in a while. Im still struggling with this issue:

How do you carry long conversations with the same people?

Context: Im a paramedic, i spend very long hours with the same coworker and on the odd occasion other medics and im noticing it always comes down to me not being able to carry a conversation.
    I never have any issue talking to my SO or my very good friends but when it comes to people where i try to keep an emotional distance, coworkers, patients and other people you interact with in day to day life, i just really suck at small talk, or the level above small talk, and i dont want to come off as antisocial, but i really really do sometimes.

the awakening and dogeatdog like this.
  2. fredisthebes

fredisthebes Fapstronaut

Try treating them like they are already your friends.

dogeatdog likes this.
  3. dogeatdog

dogeatdog Fapstronaut

What Reconstruction said. Asking questions and giving your own answer to the question is a great way to keep the conversation going and may lead to more interesting topics. For example: "what kind of music do you like? I personally listen to bla bla bla". This always works for me and I'm generally very shy around new people.

4. You've had some good answers. I'll add some more.

To have someone consider you interesting (and therefore enjoy talking to you), you have to remember some things.
    • You have two ears, but one mouth. Therefore, listen twice as much as you talk. (In practice, having six ears and one mouth is better :).)