1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

How do you learn to tolerate others' negative energy?

Discussion in 'Self Improvement' started by Les_Brown, Sep 30, 2016.

1. Les_Brown

Les_Brown Fapstronaut

I am currently making significant progress on my reboot. My brain fog has lifted, I am no longer objectifying women, and my mood improves every day. However, I have found that I am growing less tolerant of people who have a negative outlook on life and express negative energy. These people remind me of the way I used to be when I engaged in PMO and hated myself.

I understand that it is best to stay away from negative people. But, I am currently a student in university and I have to work on a semester-long project with a team of other students. I can tolerate everyone in the team, except for one student who has the most negative outlook about class, life, and others' opinions that I have ever seen. I have expressed to this individual that his attitude detracts from the energy of the group and changes the atmosphere of our team dynamics. However, he dismissed my claim.

I know that I can't change people who are not willing to change themselves. So, are there any strategies for coping/dealing with negative people? I find my energy changing when I am around this energy, but I would like to learn how to maintain a positive attitude in this student's presence.

2. I Free I

I Free I Guest