1. Welcome to NoFap! We have disabled new forum accounts from being registered for the time being. In the meantime, you can join our weekly accountability groups.
    Dismiss Notice

12 Pieces of Advice...#4 and #5

Discussion in 'Self Improvement' started by Invictvs, Mar 22, 2019.

1. Invictvs

Invictvs Fapstronaut

I posted a thread a week or so ago titled Top 12 Pieces of Advice for Men. Of course its not a complete list, nor can I really claim that its definitely the "top 12." I did state that I would elaborate on each of the things I came up with though, so today I'm going to write a little bit about #4 and #5: building wealth, and delaying gratification. They go hand in hand with each other, and I think in today's world they are important concepts that are not really taught to young men. Most of what I write here was learned from mistakes I've made, and regrets that I have! Before I go on I am not a professional financial adviser. You can, however, read plenty of advice for free online by some.

We live in a consumerist society that makes young people believe they "need" things. In reality there are only a few basic things we need: shelter, clean water, and food. To have those things, we need to work, and for most of us work generally provides more than enough income to cover those things. Everything else in life is a want, whether you like it or not. Unfortunately I think society today, at least in the US (I can't speak for other countries), is full of jealousy. Most of us tend to think we deserve what someone better off than us has, and that leads many people down the road of financial peril.